TCU Board of Trustees grants tenure, faculty promotions at spring meeting 

During the spring meeting of the TCU Board of Trustees, the group voted on tenure, promotions and granting emeritus status to faculty members. 

Tenure is defined as a “permanence of position.” It’s a multi-faceted process that may take decades for professors to achieve. Requirements for tenure include, but are not limited to, procuring grants, performing leading-edge research, presenting at national and international conferences, teaching undergraduate and graduate courses, advising undergraduate students, serving on departmental, college and university committees, as well as professional society committees, and having one’s work published. 

Faculty members granted tenure are as follows:  Aaron Navarro—History, Sonja S. Watson—Spanish and Hispanic Studies, Frank Hernandez—Educational Leadership, Christopher Aspaas—Music, Danika K. KnightPsychology, Anthony DiLollo—Communication Sciences and Disorders and Scott Kurashige—Comparative Race and Ethnic Studies. 

Faculty members promoted to professor are as follows:  Charlotte Hogg—English, Alex Lemon—English, Yushau Sodiq—Religion, Amiso George—Strategic Communication, Tricia Jenkins—Film, Television and Digital Media, Robin Griffith—Education, Martin Blessinger—Music, Jon W. Burgess—Music, Brian Clinnin—Theatre, Suki John—Dance, Nina Martin—Dance, Chris Powell—Art and Michael Chumley—Biology.  

Faculty members granted tenure and promoted to associate professor are as follows: Rishav Bista—Economics, Guangyan Chen—Modern Language Studies, Marie Ciriza-Lope—Spanish and Hispanic Studies, Sean Crotty—Geography, Joseph Darda, English, Stacie McCormick—English, Joshua Bentley—Strategic Communication, Sean Atkinson—Music, Yvonne Cao—Graphic Design, Rachel Livedalen—Art, Kat Barger—Physics & Astronomy, Matthew Hale—Biology, Ashley Franklin—Nursing, Carole Howe—Nursing, Adam King—Kinesiology, Frederick W. Gooding, Jr.—John V. Roach Honors College, Jeff Zeyun Chen—Accounting, Chad Proell—Accounting and Xiaoyan Wen—Accounting.   

Dusty Crocker—Graphic Design, Julie Dahlquist—Finance and Barbara Wood—Finance have been promoted to professor of professional practice. 

Phil EspositoKinesiology was promoted to associate professor of professional practice. 

Sheila Griffin—Nursing and Karen HenningtonCommunication Sciences and Disorders have been promoted to the rank of assistant professor of professional practice. 

Faculty members promoted to the rank of senior instructor are as follows: Jill Havens—English, Marie Schein—French, Clark Jones—Biology and Michael Sawey—Biology. 

Faculty members promoted to Instructor II are as follows:  Grant Ferguson—Political Science, George Gunter III—Music and Dennis Ledis—Mathematics. 

Upon retirement, emeritus status may be bestowed on tenured faculty members who served TCU with distinction for a number of years. These individuals are granted various rights and privileges for their honored role and ongoing potential for contributions to the intellectual and cultural life of the university. 

The following faculty members were awarded Emeritus status: Patrick Flynn—Psychology, Donald Frischmann—Spanish and Hispanic Studies, Jack Hill—Religion, Bonnie Melhart—Dean, Joel Mitchell—Kinesiology and Tommy Thomason—Journalism.